What is the new fee?

The EU decided to bring into effect ETIAS to improve the safety of all those within its borders. The EU began the legal procedures for introducing ETIAS in 2016, though it will not come into effect until May 2023.

How much is ETIAS?

The fee will be around £6-£7 per person (dependent on the exchange rate).

How do I apply for ETIAS?

A straightforward online application form must be completed to obtain an ETIAS travel authorisation. Applicants have to enter their personal details such as their name, date of birth and address, information about their trip, as well as some security questions.

Apply here

Do I have to apply every time I travel to an EU country?

No – once you have an ETIAS – is it valid for 3 consecutive years or until your passport is lost / expired.

Whilst countries will require an ETIAS?

Any country within the  Schengen Zone.

The 26 Schengen countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

New countries will be added to the Schengen Zone in the future. Currently in the process of joining are 

What does ETIAS stand for?

European Travel Information and Authorisation System

Do children need to apply for ETIAS?

Yes all travellers need their own ETIAS.

How long can I visit the EU with an ETIAS for?

Having an ETIAS does not change the amount of time you can spend in the EU. British Passport holders can currently stay for 90 days maximum every 180 days.

If you want to travel to the EU for work or study – you will not need an ETIAS but instead a relevant visa for your purpose of entry into the EU.

10 Christmas week travel deals from Manchester

If you were hoping for a week away in the sun this Christmas – now is the time to book! Leave it much later and there is very limited availability and things become much more expensive. All of these travel deals are for the Xmas week and departing from Manchester. There are deals to suit a range of budgets and tastes. Have a scroll through the list and don’t forget if you need any more

Read More »

Fly for Free River Cruises

AmaWaterways River Cruise Line We are thrilled to announce the return of our Fly for Free promotion available on over 300 select European River Cruises in 2023. Manchester Travel Shop customers booking on selected 2023 sailing dates, will receive complimentary flights & overseas transfers from London Heathrow or London Gatwick, with regional supplements from just £75pp. Whether you want to sail Europe’s Danube, Douro, Rhine, Moselle, Main, Rhône, Saône, Seine, Garonne & Dordogne Rivers, or the Dutch & Belgian Waterways, this

Read More »

Bulgaria Ski Balkan Promo Code

Balkan Ski Promo Code: SKI25    BOOK NOW Winter Ski Sale – Save £25 per person when you book by 19 September (adults and children from age 2). All of winter 2022/23. Package Holidays to Bulgaria using our charter flights to Sofia Terms and Conditions – The discount is £25 per person (adults and children over 2 years of age) off all package holidays (not flight only or accommodation only) to Bulgaria using our charter

Read More »


An angry older lady allegedly slapped a male member of the cabin crew and urinated over three seats after he denied her a free alcoholic drink then took away the drink she was consuming. The drama forced a flight diversion, where it took several security officers to drag the woman off the flight. The incident occurred on Jet2 flight LS819 from Manchester Airport (MAN) to Rhodes (RHO). As the story goes, the passenger, a woman

Read More »

Santorini Trip Report

Some useful tips on Santorini A Manchester Travel Shop Customer (Robert Garner) has just returned from a holiday in Santorini. He has kindly submitted a little trip report that may help other customers planning a trip to this beautiful greek Island. Santorini is a Volcanic Greek island. The island is not massive. Taxis seem quite expensive but buses are very cheap. Main bus station is in Thira, quite chaotic but lots of buses to different

Read More »

Brave father-of-three stepped in and restrained a passenger on Jet2

A brave father-of-three stepped in and restrained a passenger who stripped down to her underwear and twice tried to storm a plane cockpit shouting “Allahu Akbar” on his flight to Manchester Airport. Phillip O’Brien, 35, was flying on a Jet2 flight, returning from Cyprus to Manchester last week with six members of his family, including his wife and three children aged eight to 14, when a female passenger, mid 30s, walked up the aisle dressed

Read More »
Looking for the best quote for your travel?
This is default text for notification bar